Decisions… and being the better person!

At this point, I’ve pretty much made up my mind. I’m not going to attend my mother-in-law’s funeral. I can’t see a reason that I should subject myself to more hurt and disappointment than I have already suffered.

When I really thought about it, my mother-in-law was the one that I truly cared about in Mark’s family. My father-in-law was a cold fish. He hardly talked, he was anti-social, and he was not one of the warmest or friendliest people you will ever meet. One word that would describe him is SULLEN.

My brother-in-law and I hardly knew each other because he spent a majority of his adult life in prison. He’d only recently been out of jail for any any length of time. I felt like I was just getting to know him, but when Mark passed away, he disappeared from my life.

As for the nieces and other extended family, I was not particularly close to any of them. I liked them well enough, but I do not believe I would miss them at all if I never talked to them again.

Edible Arrangements

Edible Arrangements

One of my friends suggested that I send flowers to the funeral home. I was hesitant because I figured that they could get lost in the shuffle, and the family would not even know I sent them. I decided on an Edible Arrangement. I ordered a nice arrangement, attached a “thinking of you” mylar balloon, and I enclosed a personalized card sending my condolences. It will be delivered on Saturday.

I don’t know if they (my father-in-law and brother-in-law) will acknowledge it with a phone call to me, but I did the right thing and I am the better person for it. The ball is in their court now. If I never hear from the family again, at least I know that I did the right thing!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment